All posts written by Jared Kennedy

Memory Monday (8/17/09)

“You shall not covet.”  Exodus 20:17a

(From this week’s Show Me Jesus Younger Elementary curriculum)

What is “Memory Monday”? Each week I’ll post Scripture and/or Bible doctrine memory work from the previous Sunday’s children’s Bible lessons. Here is the challenge! Learn the memory work together as a family. Then, kids, come to our Sunday gatherings next week and recite the memory work to Mrs. Kelsey Barnes (St. Matthews campus), Mr. David Kidd (Germantown campus) or me to receive a reward.

SojournKids in St. Matthews

Now that we’ve done a few services in St. Matthews, I thought it would be good to highlight what is going on with kids at the campus there.  We want every Sunday to be a celebration for our kids, a celebration of Jesus–who He is and what he has done to save his people!  Just like in Germantown, our SojournKids ministry in St. Matthews will be about God’s plan to save humanity from sin through Jesus!

And we’re expecting the St. Matthews service to be a very big one for families.  For the launch Sunday, there were 50 children in attendance, and growth beyond that is inevitable.  In the three zip codes immediately surrounding Walden school: 40206 (Crescent Hill), 40207 (St. Matthews), and 40222 (Graymoor-Devondale/Lyndon), there are 55 children who regularly attend SojournKids Sunday Bible classes.  If every one of those kids begins to attend at the St. Matthews campus and each invites one friend… well, you get the idea.

So, if you are planting in St. Matthews and you’d like to help the kids there celebrate Jesus, here are four things that you can do to help:

1)  Join the balloon crew! To highlight our desire for this to be a time of celebration (and while they last), we’re giving away helium balloons each week to every child that comes to the St. Matthews campus.  Arrive early at 8:30 AM and help us get the balloons ready.

2) Join the setup crew! Team members for Sojourn Music, Sojourn Kids, and Connect are arriving as early as 7:00 AM to unload the POD and set up Walden School for services each week.  Men, come early and help us with set-up!

3) Join the SojournKids teaching team! There are a few small differences about the St. Matthews campus.  One is that our teachers and children’s ministry servants for this campus are on a rotational schedule, and each person serves only once per month!  If you are interested in serving, you can fill out our servant application here!

4) Bring a friend and your child’s friend! Nearly 1 out of every 5 people in St. Matthews is a child (18% according to the 2000 census).  So, if you live in St. Matthews, there is a child living near you.  Invite your neighbors to come to our St. Matthews gatherings!

New Key Tag Check-in System

Beginning Sunday, August 23rd, SojournKids will begin transitioning its check-in system in both Germantown and St. Matthews to be compatible with keytags.  The key tag (like your grocery store rewards card) will be unique to your family.  The Church Community Builder software that we use at Sojourn allows you to look up a family three different ways: by phone number, name or key tag barcode.  After using a barcode scanner to read your key tag, you will quickly check  in and print out name badges and parental receipts for your family just like you’ve done in the past.

Why Scanners and Key Tags?keytagright

There are two advantages to our moving to a scanner/keytag system.  First, the system is intended to speed up the self check-in process even more.  Secondly, key tags will add an added layer of security. Our goal is to eventually remove the keyboard from all self check-in stations.  This means that you (or someone else for that matter) will either need to have your family’s personal key tag or speak to a registration desk attendant in order to print name badges and parental receipts for your family. Continue Reading…

Don’t flatter or deceive children by teaching them that their nature is good.

“We have to be willing to do what needs to be done in this physical world so that the rescue of the Gospel can be seen as glorious.  To that end, we have to train diligently, providing experiences to reinforce spiritual truth.  We have to lead and be in charge–to be courageous and do the hard things, allowing our children to experience some discomfort and even turmoil in this world in the hope that they will experience joy in the next.  It is better for a child to learn a heart lesson, though it cause him temporary pain, than for him to ignorantly follow a path leading to eternal pain.”

Sally Michael, Jill Nelson, and Bud Burk, Helping Children to Understand the Gospel, (Children Desiring God, 2009).

Pastor Daddy to be published!

book-pastor-daddyThere is great news for fans of Pastor Daddy, Sojourn’s first children’s book written by Lindsey Blair and Bobby Gilles with illustrations by Tessa Janes.  Last week, Sojourn’s leadership signed a publishingCFP contract with Christian Focus Publications, a great little Christian publishing house in Scotland.  The book will be published in mid to late 2010 under the new title, Our Home is like a Little Church.

Until then,  there has been a price change for Pastor Daddy!  You can now purchase the book through the Sojourn Music store and at the Sojourn book table  for only $5.00.   This is a permanent price reduction that will last as long as the 100 copies we have on site remain in stock.  Since we have signed the publishing contract, there will be no more editions printed until Christian Focus releases the book next year.   So, get a “first edition” copy while you can!